Congratulations to the Winners of the 2018 Young Writers’ Contest

We are excited to announce the winners of our 2018 Young Writers’ Contest, in conjunction with the Spencertown Academy Arts Center Festival of Books. Look forward to hearing the work of our first prize winners read aloud at the Festival on Labor Day Weekend.

Congratulations to the six winners, and thank you to every student who entered, making it a great competition! We’d also like to thank our judges: Wesley Brown, Jamie Cat Callan, Alan Gelb, David Highfill, Daphne Kalotay, and Wendy Schmalz.

This year two schools swept the awards: Monument Mountain Regional High School in Great Barrington, MA, and Hudson High School in Hudson, NY. Following are the list of all winners. Read the First Prize Essay by Claudia Maurino and the First Prize Short Story by Noah Goble, both of Monument Mountain High School.

2018 Winners

First Prize: Claudia Maurino, Monument Mountain, Loss
Second Prize: Shimran Alam, Hudson High School, Dream
Third Prize: Tahrima Siha, Hudson High School, Untitled

Fiction/Short Story
First Prize: Noah Goble, Monument Mountain, Dreamer
Second Prize: Piper Nayowith, Hudson High School, The Town
Third Prize: Eva Letteron, Monument Mountain, Young Girl Eating a Bird